Secondary school immunisation

 Aboriginal Flag   Torres Straight Islander Flag   Pride Flag

The National Immunisation Program provides vaccines to students in Year 7 and Year 10. These vaccines are provided at your student’s school by our councils nurse immunisers.

Students in Year 7 are recommended and funded for:

  • Boostrix - Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis (whooping cough) booster (1 dose only)
  • Gardasil – Human Papillomavirus 2 doses given 6 months apart

Students in Year 10 are recommended and funded for:

  • Nimenrix – single dose of Meningococcal ACWY 

If you have any questions for your secondary school student vaccines, please email our immunisation team at

Students who have missed vaccines at school in either Year 7 or Year 10 can be seen at any of our community-based immunisation sessions. Online bookings for these sessions can be made here.

For information on Council's child safety statement of commitment, please visit the Child Safety page.