Audit and Risk Committee

The Audit and Risk Committee (the Committee) is an independent advisory Committee to Council established under section 139 of the Local Government Act 1989.

The Committee's objective is to provide appropriate independent advice and recommendations to Council on matters relevant to its Charter in order to facilitate decision-making by Council in relation to the discharge of its accountability requirements.

The Committee has been established to monitor, review and advise Council on the systems and activities of Council in ensuring:

  • Reliable and complete financial and performance reporting
  • High standards of corporate governance
  • Appropriate application of accounting policies
  • Compliance with applicable laws and regulations
  • Effective management and monitoring of all risks, controls and insurances
  • Effective and efficient internal and external audit functions
  • Appropriate measures to provide early warning of any issues affecting the organisation’s financial well-being
  • The level and effectiveness of appropriate Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery planning
  • Maintenance and fostering of an ethical environment and oversight of related party transactions
  • Fraud prevention, including corruption.

The Committee comprises of five (5) members as follows:

  • One Independent Chairperson
  • Two Independent Members
  • Two Councillors

During 2018-2019, independent members of the Committee will receive a sitting fee of $1,582 and the chairperson an additional $415.

Expressions of Interest to Join the Committee 

Council is seeking to appoint a qualified person to its Audit and Risk Committee, with strong risk and strategic management skills, with senior business, risk management, and finance or accounting experience.

An understanding of local government operations and financial reporting and auditing requirements or previous experience serving on a board is highly desirable.  An application that includes risk management and governance experience will be highly regarded.

The appointment will be for a period of three years and an annual retainer of $8,015 will be paid.  Additional sitting fees are paid as required.

Expressions of interest detailing previous experience should be received by Friday 18 October, 2019, addressed to:- 

Mr Tim Frederico
Director Corporate Development
PO Box 490
Frankston Vic 3199

A copy of the Audit & Risk Committee’s Charter can be downloaded from the link under "Related Documents" (on the right) or by contacting Ms Jacquelin Shannon on 9784 1820 or by

Audit and Risk Committee Members

Neil Greenaway - Chairperson

Independent Member - Audit and Risk Committee

Neil GreenawayMr Greenaway was appointed in January 2013 and is currently the Chairperson of the Committee

Mr Greenaway is currently a consultant to the NFP and public sector. He currently holds director and independent governance roles with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and in the cemetery and crematoria industry. Mr Greenaway has also held executive governance and finance positions at Medibank Private and St Vincent’s Health. 

 Mr Greenaway is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, Fellow of the Certified Practising Accountants of Australia, Fellow of Governance Institute of Australia, Fellow of Chartered Institute of Secretaries  and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

David Fraser

Independent Member - Audit and Risk Committee

Dave FraserMr Fraser was appointed in  November 2013.

Mr Fraser is a Chartered Accountant and Certified Internal Auditor with over 28 years experience in financial management consulting, audit and risk management with specialisation in emerging technology risks.

Mr Fraser is currently responsible for the delivery of a range of Internal Audit Programs including Victoria Police, Melbourne Planning Authority and Melbourne Markets Authority. He is also familiar with the requirements of the   Victorian Auditor General’s Office (VAGO) in relation to both financial and performance audits and has previously provided assurance services to a range   of City Council’s.

Leanna La Combre

Independent Member - Audit and Risk Committee

Leanna La CombreMs La Combre was reappointed in October 2013.  

Ms  La Combre is a Frankston resident who currently serves on the Board of the Frankston Community Support and Information Centre and Volunteering Victoria. 

Ms La Combre has tertiary qualifications in Law, Criminal Justice and Governance and is currently the Manager of Governance, Strategic Projects and Risk at the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine.



Members from Frankston City Council

Mayor_OReilly                 Cr Quinn McCormack

Mayor Cr Michael O'Reilly    Cr Quinn McCormack

Please note: From April 2018 the Audit and Risk Management Committee has changed it's name to the Audit and Risk Committee.

Contact Us

Frankston City Council.
30 Davey Street
Frankston 3199
P. 1300 322 322

Back to top